

OFFICE OF THE UNDER-SECRETARY-GENERAL DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL AFFAIRS (DESA) ROOM S-2922, NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10017 TEL.: 1 (212) 963.5958 • FAX: 1 (212) 963.1010

## REFERENCE: DESA-20/02431

The Secretariat of the United Nations presents its compliments to the Permanent Representatives of Member States and Permanent Observers of Non-member States to the United Nations and has the honour to refer to General Assembly resolution 69/313 of 27 July 2015, entitled "Addis Ababa Action Agenda of the Third International Conference on Financing for Development" and to Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) resolution 2004/69 of 11 November 2004, entitled "Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters".

In paragraph (b) of the above-mentioned ECOSOC resolution, the Council decided that "The Committee shall comprise twenty-five members nominated by Governments and acting in their expert capacity, who are to be drawn from the fields of tax policy and tax administration and who are to be selected to reflect an adequate equitable geographical distribution, representing different tax systems. The members shall be appointed by the Secretary-General, after notification is given to the Economic and Social Council. The term of office shall be four years". The Addis Ababa Action Agenda of the Third International Conference on Financing for Development, in paragraph 29, reconfirmed this mandate and reiterated that "The members shall be appointed by the Secretary-General, in consultation with Member States".

The Committee is nearing the conclusion of a highly productive four-year tenure, which will yield a raft of new and updated policy and practical guidance for governments, tax administrators and taxpayers. In the process, the Committee has already advanced the role of tax and domestic resource mobilization in achieving the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

The term of the current membership of the Committee will expire on 30 June 2021. Accordingly, the Secretary-General welcomes the Governments of the Permanent Representatives of Member States and the Permanent Observers of Non-member States to the United Nations to nominate an expert for the next fouryear term of the Committee. Nominations of current officials who have an overview of both domestic and international tax policy issues would be particularly welcome.

## The nomination of women candidates is strongly encouraged.

All nominations should include a curriculum vitae and must be received by 15 March 2021.



Nominations may be sent via email to <u>fsdoffice@un.org</u> or to the following address:

Department of Economic and Social Affairs Financing for Sustainable Development Office Two United Nations Plaza Room DC2-2170 New York, NY 10017 Telephone: (+1-212) 963-8415 Fax: (+1-212) 963-0443

The Secretariat of the United Nations avails itself of this opportunity to renew its compliments to the Permanent Representatives of Member States and Permanent Observers of Non-member States to the United Nations the assurances of his highest consideration.

刘振凤

16 December 2020