HEADQUARTERS | SIEGE | NEW YORK, NY 10017 TEL.: + 212 963 1234

REFERENCE: DESA-24/02356

The Secretariat of the United Nations presents its compliments to the Permanent Representatives of Member States to the United Nations and has the honour to refer to General Assembly resolution 69/313 of 27 July 2015, entitled "Addis Ababa Action Agenda of the Third International Conference on Financing for Development" and Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) resolution 2004/69 of 11 November 2004, entitled "Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters."

Per the above-mentioned ECOSOC resolution, and as reaffirmed in the Addis Ababa Action Agenda, "The Committee shall comprise twenty-five members nominated by Governments and acting in their expert capacity, who are to be drawn from the fields of tax policy and tax administration and who are to be selected to reflect an adequate equitable geographical distribution, representing different tax systems. The members shall be appointed by the Secretary-General, after notification is given to the Economic and Social Council. The term of office shall be four years".

The current membership of the Committee is nearing the conclusion of a highly productive four-year tenure that has strengthened the role of the United Nations in international tax cooperation through innovative policy solutions and practical guidance for governments, tax administrators and taxpayers. The Committee's outcomes provide concrete tools for strengthening tax policy and administration, improving resource mobilization, and supporting sustainable development worldwide, while recognizing the diverse realities and capacities of different tax systems. Its work offers valuable input for addressing the SDG financing gap and supporting a more inclusive and effective global tax system.

The terms of the current membership of the Committee will expire on 30 June 2025. Accordingly, the Secretary-General welcomes each Government of the Permanent Representatives of Member States to the United Nations to nominate an expert for the next four-year term of the Committee, commencing on 1 July 2025 and ending on 30 June 2029. Nominations of experts who have an overview of both domestic and international tax policy issues in their sustainable development context would be particularly welcome.

The nomination of women candidates is strongly encouraged.

All nominations should include a curriculum vitae and must be received by 4 April 2025.

Nominations may be sent via email to desa-taxexpertcommittee-nominations@un.org or to the following address:

Department of Economic and Social Affairs Financing for Development Office Two United Nations Plaza Room DC2-2306 New York, NY 10017

The Secretariat of the United Nations avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the Permanent Representatives of Member States to the United Nations the assurances of its highest consideration.

20 November 2024