

Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters

30th session, New, York, 24-27 March 2025

Co- coordinators' Report
on
Subcommittee on Indirect Tax Issues







Papers approved in the 29th Session of the Committee

- Overview of VAT/GST in developing countries;
- ❖ VAT/GST treatment of small enterprises;
- ❖ An introduction to VAT/GST refunds; and
- The use of new technologies to improve VAT/GST compliance (IT systems, E-invoices/big data).

Suspended topics that could be revisited

- Interaction between VAT/GST and other taxes;
- * VAT/GST and specific sectors (Tourism and Construction); and
- ❖ VAT/GST and government entities, charities and donor-funded projects.





Suggested topics for the next Subcommittee

- ❖ VAT treatment of Islamic Finance Instruments;
- Designing VAT/GST systems to be less regressive;
- ❖ VAT and the financial sector;
- ❖ VAT and the digital economy;
- Prevention and resolution of cross-border VAT/GST disputes;
- ❖ VAT/GST application to digital platforms from a developing country perspective;
- ❖ Electronic certificates for VAT/GST refunds.





Note of Thanks

- Muhammad Ashfaq AHMED (Committee Member)
- Fabiola ANNACONDIA (IBFD)
- Lesley O'CONNEL XEGO (South African Revenue Service, South Africa
- Santiago Diaz de SARRALDE (CIAT)
- ❖ Fanie VAN ZYL (University of Pretoria, South Africa)
- Rodney Govender (PwC)
- Alex Baulf (Avalara, United Kingdom)
- ❖ Marie LAMENSCH (UCLouvain and the Vrije Universiteit Brussel)
- Emeka NWANKWO (ATAF)
- Marius van OORDT (University of Pretoria)
- ❖ Oluwole ONI (Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), Nigeria)
- ❖ Janet SIMBEYE (Malawi Revenue Authority, Malawi)

- Rebecca MILLAR (University of Sydney Law School)
- Enrique Bolado (Committee Member)
- Daniel ALVAREZ (World Bank)
- Elisangela Rita (Committee Member)
- Bevon SINCLAIR (COTA)
- Liselott KANA (Committee Member)
- ❖ Dimitra KOULOURI (OECD)
- Ludwig De WINTER (European Commission)
- Yan XIONG (Committee Member)
- YoungJoo LEE (Committee Member)
- Marlene Patricia NEMBHARD-PARKER (Committee Member)
- Mya Mya OO (Committee Member)
- Jeffrey OWENS (Vienna University)
- Piakarskaya, Anastasiya (Vienna University)
- Luisa Scarcella (International Chamber of Commerce)
- Joe Marden(International Chamber of Commerce)
- Marlon van Amersfoort(International Chamber of Commerce)
- Karl-Heinz Haydl (International Chamber of Commerce)
- Nathalie Bidal (International Chamber of Commerce Cing for
- Shirley Syh(International Chamber of Commerce) Sustainable Development



Thank you



